Word Spit-Up

word vomit

We’ve all heard the phrase “word vomit.”  I’m not sure who coined it, but I’ve definitely used it a lot.  It describes something I do often, basically not controlling my tongue until I realize I’ve said too much, made a mess, or said nothing of value.  It’s basically words that just come out.  Despite my use of this phrase, I was recently thinking that it doesn’t quite nail my most frequent “word vomit” experience.  I think “word spit-up” actually describes what I mean a little better.

You see, when someone vomits there seems to be a little more control.  We usually have a little advanced warning (though not always), and we can prepare for it to some degree.  Sometimes it’s even possible to prevent it.  It’s also not something that happens regularly in most seasons.  But spit-up really does just happen.  It’s out of the baby’s control.  And it happens a lot.

Similarly, word spit-up just kind of comes up.  It’s just part of my natural routine.  I might as well wear a bib wherever I go and carry a burp cloth in my purse.  Being in a counseling program, I am continuously critiqued for my words with clients.  Each day I am made more aware of just how often I spit-up.  My most common spit-ups right now are:

  • “I understand” – Even looking at this phrase, makes me want to stick a bar of soap in my mouth.  In a counseling situation, it just never helps to say “I understand.” Chances are I don’t anyway, but it’s better to show I understand than say it.  Asking or naming a person’s feeling is a whole lot more helpful and loving.
  • “At least” – If I could remove this phrase from my vocabulary altogether, I would be a much better intern, friend, and Christ follower.  Rather than running from hurt with optimism, I would truly listen and love.
  • “Why?” – My professors and supervisors tell me all the time to STOP using this word.  It always come off judgmentally, like an accusation.  Like spit-up, I often catch it coming out of my mouth before it’s too late.

Despite being baby incompetent,  even I have experienced spit-up.  Babies are the only ones that can do something that gross and look cute while they do it.  They often smile and coo as they have this gross goo dripping down their chins.  Moms wipe their baby’s chin with a smile and love (often cooing back), knowing it’s not their little one’s fault.  If I spit-up regularly, it would not be cute.  My mom is pretty loving, but I don’t think she would smile (or coo) at me if I did this.  She might wipe my chin and she would do it in love (my mom is exceptionally sweet), but she’d also be pretty disgusted.

I imagine God’s reaction to my uncontrolled tongue, my word spit-up, is similar.  While He loves me and is willing to clean up after me, the spit-up itself disgusts Him.  So, how can I, a follower of Christ trying to become more like my Savior, look at my my word spit-up with anything but disgust?

After all, the Bible is pretty clear that we are supposed to grow up, and stop acting like babies:

Brothers, do not be children in your thinking. Be infants in evil, but in your thinking be mature.  1 Corinthians 14:20 (ESV)

for everyone who lives on milk is unskilled in the word of righteousness, since he is a child.  Hebrews 5:13 (ESV)

Like newborn infants, long for the pure spiritual milk, that by it you may grow up into salvation— 1 Peter 2:2 (ESV)

so that we may no longer be children, tossed to and fro by the waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by human cunning, by craftiness indeceitful schemes.  Ephesians 4:14 (ESV)

My prayer for me and my prayer for you is that we’d seek the Lord proactively enough to prevent word spit-up before it starts, growing into maturity in our speech and love for one another.

Leave a comment